Unofficial mascot

The Bingergread Cottage

me-pilot

You will know by now that I never do anything by the book – not even write them. It follows, therefore, that when I was in the military I played cat’s cradle with all the regulations so that I could do what I was best at. I only nicked a Hercules once but that was with the permission of the pilot so it was over-looked.

Officially I was a teacher. Imagine that – yes I was trained and have a degree from University of London in English and Drama teaching but that isn’t what I was doing. It was a sneaky way to get me off to anywhere I was needed to teach survival. Remember that there were very few women in the Royal Air Force then and even fewer who needed my services.

The rules then being that one female could not be left amongst a bunch of men…

View original post 506 more words

2 thoughts on “Unofficial mascot

Leave a Reply

